2004 - Nilgiris Loksabha Elections

User Rating: / 0

Tags: 2004 Loksabha Elections | Master Madan | Nilgiris | R.Prabhu

Nilgiris - 2004 Elections was an election that was a defining moment for the congress at the centre. The election victory was a 5-time victory for Mr.R.Prabhu. The votebank in the Nilgiris was not disturbed with the BJP Candidate losing by 30%. The voting turnout was 59.3% as opposed to a figure of about 60% in Tamil Nadu and 58.1% all over India. The candidates were both familiar and the centre level politics and state level alliance helped secure the seat for Congress. THe seat has always been a strong hold for Congress as witnessed by the results. There may have been some comments that not much has been done by the Congress Candidate in relation to the NMR train, Athikadavu Scheme, Mettupalayam - Coimbatore road and rail, tea prices in the nilgiris and also the long pending issue of addressing the pollution in River Bhavani. Independent Pappannan secured about 1.4% is worthy of a note. The BJP lost this election in the lok sabha and Congress with the alliance of  Rashtriya Janata Dal (National People's Party), Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Lok Jan Shakti Party (People's Power Party), Telangana Rashtra Samithi (Telangana Nationalist Group), Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK), Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK), Indian Union Muslim League, Republican Party of India (Athvale), Jammu and Kashmir People's Democratic Party. Of the constituencies Thondamuthur was the dominant one followed by Mettupalayam (18%), Gudalur (17%), Avinashi (16%). Prabhu secured more votes in all 6 MLA seats included in this constituency.

Election Results :



Data Source : Election Commission of India.




Add comment

Comments are moderated and will be allowed if they are about the topic and not abusive.

Security code