Mettupalayam went to the local assembly elections under the Madras Presidency in this election. This election was the first election after independence. This is the only election upto 2018 where an independent has won in this seat. Kempe Gowder was from the Majority Vokkaliga community who then made up for than 60% in this seat. It is worth noting that Mr.Abdul Salam Azad from the Congress Party contested this seat and lost in spite of him being a freedom fighter. He was well known yet caste played an important role in this election.


Data Source : Election Commission of India

Leave a Reply