Mettupalayam Assembly Constituency has recently been more popular with the ADMK. ADMK has won 9 times (highest) among 16 elections held so far. The margins of victory also indicate this trend as per the chart below. The last election has been a close one with Mr.T.R.Shanmugasundaram of DMK losing to Mr.A.K.Selvaraj from ADMK in a margin of 2456 votes. This has happened in a time when ADMK formed the government at the state level. It is an interesting position for Mettupalayam as the winning margin has eroded for ADMK to just 1.09%. The next election in May 2026 poses a very puzzling proposition with the ADMK wanting to strengthen its position and also the DMK wanting to increase its hold in this region with the MP  (Mr.A.Raja) also from the DMK since 2019. 

Data Source : Election Commission of India.

Leave a Reply