Mettupalayam’s seventh assembly elections were held in 1980. This period marked a firm hold on Tamil Nadu assembly by the ADMK led by MGR. This election gave the ADMK a clear success. Mr.S.Palanisamy contested against Mr.K.Vijayan of the Kempe Gowder (MLA -1951) family and lost by a 19.5% (15955 votes) margin. The election had a few independents who managed to only get about 1.5% of the total vote base. The total electors rose to 140,096 from 135,224. The polling percentage was about 59.32%. There was almost no difference in the percentage of votes polled in this election. Mr.MGR won this election again 162 seats in alliance with the 2 communist party of India. The opponents were the DMK and congress alliance which won only 69 seats.



Data Source : Election Commission of India.

Leave a Reply