In 1996, DMK-led front won the elections with M. Karunanidhi sworn in as Chief Minister. Mettupalayam witnessed a dramatic change in shift in power from its traditional ADMK strong hold to a DMK seat by 24%. The election was a huge win for the DMK after it sat out of power since 1991. B.Arunkumar who won his first term to office was a party worker for a long time and he was rewarded with the MLA seat in this election courtesy to the sea change

in the state from ADMK to DMK. M.Karunanidhi won his fourth term. Due to corruption charges and mishandling of the incumbent chief minister J. Jayalalithaa, DMK won by a landslide, and Jayalalithaa herself lost her seat in the constituency Bargur, to E.G. Sugavanam from the DMK by 8366 votes. This made her the third sitting chief minister of Tamil Nadu, after M. Bhaktavatsalam and Janaki Ramachandran, of losing their seat.



Data Source : Election Commission of India.

Leave a Reply